Support

Sharing Your Budget

YNAB’s Cloud Sync feature uses Dropbox to keep your budget in sync and up to date.  There may be times when more than one person needs to access the same budget.

For example:

  • A husband and wife with separate Dropbox accounts
  • A friend or family member that you're helping to get started with YNAB
  • Helping your kids in college
  • Clients that you work with in a financial advisor role
  • You need to allow access to a business budget with your employee

You can do this by linking all computers to the same Dropbox account, or by sharing your budget through Dropbox.

Using the same Dropbox account

*EASIEST OPTION*

Download and install YNAB on the second computer.  Set up Cloud Sync when prompted and make sure you link the same Dropbox account that you used for the first computer to store your YNAB budget.  That’s it!  You’re done.

If you have any other computer already linked to the Dropbox account where your budget is saved now, it will be waiting for you to open it. You'll only need to install YNAB in order to open the budget.


Sharing through different Dropbox accounts

Because your YNAB budget is stored in Dropbox you can share access to a single budget, or to all of your budgets.

In each case you’ll invite them to the shared folder and they accept the invitation.  Once that’s done, Cloud Sync will just work!

Step 1: Click the Dropbox icon in the system tray (Windows) or menu bar (Mac).
Step 2: Click the tiny house or folder icon in the window that appears to go to the Dropbox folder on your computer.
Step 3: Double click the folder that holds your budgets (usually ‘YNAB’).
Step 4: Right click (control click on a Mac) the budget you’d like to share.

Note: Your budgets will all contain the names you've given them followed by a tilde "~", a random series of numbers and letters then ending with ".ynab4" like in the example below.
"MyBudget~NCC1701D.ynab4"

Step 5: Click “Share This Folder…” in the menu that appears.
The step above should open your web browser and take you directly to your Dropbox account.
Step 6: Fill in the email address of the person you’d like to share access with.
Step 7: Click the 'Share Folder' button.

Note: The person you shared your budget will receive an invitation email and they’ll need to accept it. Once they accept it the budget will start downloading to their computer. All they need to do is wait for it to fully download before opening it by way of 'File>Open' in the YNAB desktop menu.

How to share access to all of your budgets

Follow the same steps as above but instead share access to your entire YNAB folder where all of your budgets are saved to.

How to stop sharing your budget

Step 1: Sign in to your Dropbox account.
Step 2: Select the Sharing tab from the sidebar on the left.
Step 3: Click the Options link to the right of the shared budget folder.
Step 4: Click Unshare folder.